caramel macchiato

If you’ve read my “About Me” section, or have ventured over to my Instagram, you will see that I love coffee. In particular espresso. Even more particular, caramel macchiatos.

My go to drink from Starbucks is an iced caramel macchiato with toffee nut syrup (added). It’s delicious, but also expensive. Especially since I get venti’s sometimes. On occasion I’ll also get an extra shot of espresso too. So in total that could be a $6 drink. Yeah…let’s not talk about it.

In my constant quest to find a recipe that most similarly reminds me of my favorite drink, I have created my own after many trials and errors, let me tell you. Or, better yet, let’s just get to the recipe!

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset Processed with VSCO with g3 preset Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

 

Items needed:

2 tbsp Illy dark espresso grounds*
1/2 oz Starbucks toffee nut syrup
1/2 oz vanilla syrup*
1 cup ice
1 cup milk
2 tbsp Torani caramel drizzle

STEP ONE

Brew the espresso to your machines specifications.

STEP TWO

Add ice to cup, pour in syrups and milk.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

step three

Top with espresso shots and caramel drizzle.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset  Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

If you’ve tried out my recipe let me know!

cropped-grigarious.jpg

* Illy has very finely coarse grounds, but feel free to choose which ever espresso brand you prefer.

* vanilla syrup recipe: equal measurements of water and sugar with 1tsp vanilla extract per cup, heat on stove until sugar is dissolved, store in fridge.

3 thoughts on “caramel macchiato

Leave a Reply

